Sunday trade ban in Poland and shopping Sundays in Poland in 2019

Poland Sunday trading ban and shopping Sundays dates There are new regulations in Poland – stores can be open only on selected Sundays. In 2019 in Poland, 15 out of 52 Sundays are shopping days: January 27, February 24, March 31, April 14, April 28, May 26, June 30, July 28, August 25, September 29, October 27, November 24, December 15, December 22, December 29. Basically, in 2019, trade is allowed on the last Sunday of every month and additionally on one Sunday preceding Easter (April 14, 2019) as well as on the two Sundays preceding Christmas (December 15 and 22, 2019).

Trade ban does NOT include cinemas, restaurants, cafés, small local stores where the owner can work, stores at gas stations, flower shops, pharmacies. Shopping malls can be open but most of the stores inside will be closed (only cinemas, restaurants, pharmacies in shopping malls can be open). You can always do basic shopping at the gas stations (24/7).

In 2020, there will be only 7 shopping Sundays in Poland: 2 before Christmas, 1 before Easter, and last Sunday of January, April, June, August 2020.

Please note that stores in Poland are closed during bank holidays (with the exception of some small local stores and gas station stores). In 2019, there are the following bank holidays in Poland:

Tuesday, January 1, 2019 – New Year

Sunday, January 6, 2019 – Epiphany and trading ban Sunday

Sunday, April 21, 2019 – Easter and trading ban Sunday

Monday, April 22, 2019 – Easter Monday

Wednesday, May 1, 2019 – Labor Day

Friday, May 3, 2019 – Constitution Day

Sunday, June 9, 2019 – Pentecost and trading ban Sunday

Thursday, June 20, 2019 – Corpus Christi

Thursday, August 15, 2019 – Army Day and the Assumption of Mary

Friday, November 1, 2019 – All Saints Day

Monday, November 11, 2019 – Independence Day

Wednesday, December 25, 2019 – Christmas

Thursday, December 26, 2019 – Christmas

Christmas Markets in Poland

Christmas traditions in Poland

What to do in Warsaw in December

Warsaw with children